What is a Standard Logic IC?

Part number/Packages/Pin assignment

Basic logic gates are available from multiple manufacturers as industry-standard ICs, which are functionally and pin-compatible. These ICs are called standard logic ICs.
Standard logic ICs from different manufacturers are housed in pin-compatible packages, except some small packages.
Standard logic ICs with the same function number provide the same function and pin assignment.

【Reference: Function numbers of typical standard logic ICs】
The function numbers of standard logic ICs are predefined according to the function, number of circuits, input logic, and output logic.

Function number Function name
00 Quad 2-input NAND
02 Quad 2-input NOR
04 Hex Inverter
05 Hex Inverter (Open-Drain)
07 Hex Buffer (Open-Drain)
08 Quad 2-Input AND
14 Hex Schmitt Inverter
17 Hex Schmitt Buffer
21 Dual 4-Input AND
32 Quad 2-Input OR
74 Dual D-Type Flip-Flop with Preset and Clear
86 Quad Exclusive OR
Function number Function name
123 Dual Monostable Multivibrator
125 Quad Bus Buffer (3-State)
138 3-to-8 Line Decoder
157 Quad 2-Channel Multiplexer
164 8-Bit Serial-In / Parallel-Out Shift Register
244 Octal Bus Buffer (3-State)
245 Octal Bus Transceiver (3-State)
273 Octal D-Type Flip-Flop with Clear
373 Octal D-Type Latch (3-State)
541 Octal Bus Buffer (3-State)
574 Octal D-Type Flip-Flop (3-State)
595 8-Bit Shift Register/Latch (3-State)

Chapter1 Overview of CMOS Logic ICs

What is a Logic IC?
Types of Standard Logic ICs
Equipment in Which CMOS Logic ICs are Used
Reasons Why CMOS Logic ICs are Used
Classification of CMOS Logic ICs and Overview of Each Series


Related information

A new window will open